Activities & Events

Jenny McKean Moore

The late Jenny Moore, who was a playwriting student at the George Washington University, left in trust a fund to encourage creative writing, and the trustees of the Fund helped design the program. Thanks to this fund the department brings an established poet or novelist to campus each year to teach a writing workshop for GW students and a free community workshop for adults in the larger Washington community. The position is intended to serve as a fellowship for the visiting writer, since it involves only a moderate teaching load. The program's location at a university in the center of Washington should offer additional attractions for the writer. Those who have held this prestigious appointment at GW are:


  • Marilyn Hacker 1976-1977
  • Susan Shreve 1977-1978
  • Amiri Baraka 1978-1979
  • Blanche Boyd 1979-1980
  • Carol Muske 1980-1981
  • Peter Meinke 1981-1982
  • Lucille Clifton 1982-1983
  • Julia Alvarez 1983-1984
  • Gloria Naylor 1984-1985
  • Rikka Lesser 1985-1986
  • Lonnie Carter 1986-1987
  • Richard McCann 1987-1988
  • Bobbie Jack Nelson 1988-1989
  • Jane Shore 1989-1990
  • Pablo Medina 1990-1991
  • Carol Maso 1992-1993
  • John Haines 1991-1992
  • Linda McCarriston 1993-1994
  • Beverly Lowry 1994-1995
  • Vikram Chandra 1995-1996


  • Cornelius Eady 1996-1997
  • Daniel Vilmure 1997-1998
  • Anne Caston 1998-1999
  • Dan Barden 1999-2000
  • Tony Hoagland 2000-2001
  • John McNally 2001-2002
  • Suzannah Lessard 2002-2003
  • Rick Barot 2003-2004
  • Joyce Hackett 2004-2005
  • Dana Roeser 2005-2006
  • Tayari Jones 2006-2007
  • Ryan Van Cleave 2007-2008
  • Mary Morrissy 2008-2009
  • Ed Skoog 2009-2010
  • Tilar Mazzeo 2010-2011
  • Tim Johnston 2011-2012
  • Bruce Snider 2012-2013
  • Molly McCloskey 2013-2014
  • Brando Skyhorse 2014-2015
  • Kseniya Melnik 2015-2016
  • Melinda Moustakis 2016-2017


Introducing Jenny McKean Moore

Bringing Texts to Life

The Jenny McKean Moore Fund was established in honor of the late Jenny Moore, who was a playwrighting student at GW and who left in trust a fund that has, for more than 40 years, encouraged the teaching and study of Creative Writing in the English Department, allowing us to bring a poet, novelist, playwright, or creative non-fiction writer to campus each year. While in residence, the writer brings a unique experience to the GW community, teaching a free community workshop for adults along with Creative Writing classes for GW students.  

This year we are pleased to welcome Melinda Moustakis, our 41st Writer-in-Residence.  Professor Moustakis is the author of Bear Down Bear North: Alaska Stories, which won the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction and the Maurice Prize.  She was a 5 Under 35 selection by the National Book Foundation; you can watch a Vimeo interview about that award here. Professor Moustakis received her MA from the University of California at Davis and her PhD from Western Michigan University. Her story "They Find the Drowned" won a 2013 O'Henry Prize and her work has appeared in Alaska Quarterly ReviewKenyon ReviewNew England Review, and American Short Fiction. We caught up with Professor Moustakis as she settled into campus to ask her a few questions.  Join us on September 23, when she kicks off our Jenny McKean Moore Reading Series for the semester.