Undergraduate Awards

Each year, the Department of English awards multiple departmental prizes and honors to graduating seniors who have demonstrated academic excellence in their pursuit of the English or Creative Writing major. Prizes are also awarded to undergraduate students with the best creative works in poetry, drama, playwriting and literature.

  • The Academy of American Poets College Prize, awarded to talented student poets
  • The Alice Douglas Goddard Prize, awarded for highest average GPA in English
  • The Astere E. Claeyssens Prize in Playwriting, awarded for the best original work in playwriting
    The E. K. Cutter Prize for excellence in English
  • The DeWitt Clinton Croissant Prize, awarded for the best essay on drama or the theatre
  • The Vivian Nellis Memorial Prize, awarded to a graduating senior who has demonstrated excellence in creative writing
  • The Sylvia Speck Prize, awarded for exemplary academic achievement in English Literature
  • The Student Poetry Prize, awarded to GW undergraduate and graduate students for the best single poem